Kyrgyzstan

Published on June 20 2014

Kyrgyzstan

Entering Kyrgyzstan was still a mountainous high altitude affair… After three different stations on the Tajik side on the pass (typically bureaucratic but friendly and no hassle) the Kyrgyz border appeared almost like a miracle… 5 minutes, small stamp and I had to open the gate myself to enter the country…really cool after all the other border affairs so far.

Just coming down the pass something was different already…the color green did reappear again…. Obviously more precipitation on this side of the mountain which manifested itself pretty quickly by the melting layer of up to 50 cm of snow that must have come down in the last couple days. It was melting quickly but descending towards Osh required going over another small pass and I am happy to not having done it during the snow storm ( I heard from others later that it was quite an undertaking).

Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan

The next obstacle ahead was a road block….the only road to Osh was blocked since 10 days by some locals that were upset about some guy that was arrested…that’s what I heard beforehand.

I needed to get to Osh to send off my passport for the Russian visa so I needed to see for myself.

Arriving there, indeed the road was entirely blocked with Jurts and tons of people around. No way to get through on the road. So I first checked out the surroundings because a crossing through the river could be done unfortunately only next to all the people… They could get mad….

So roaming around between the people some lady started talking to me in English…she was the village English teacher. Before short I was introduced to her family and then the family of the guy who was in jail and heard the entire story from the local’s point of view… I was invited into the jurts and was fed…a really nice first experience of Kyrgystan, especially when they suggested I should pass the block through the river and so I went…

The roadblock
The roadblock
The roadblock
The roadblock

The roadblock

being fed in the Jurt...  (note the pieces of meat hanging off the wall)
being fed in the Jurt...  (note the pieces of meat hanging off the wall)

being fed in the Jurt... (note the pieces of meat hanging off the wall)

my host with her kids

my host with her kids

x-ing the river eventually....ca. 70cm deep only so no problem

x-ing the river eventually....ca. 70cm deep only so no problem

approaching Osh....  The Kyrgyz lover their Jurts for sure as much as they like camping out.... sometimes difficult to find a nice spot not occupied already ....

approaching Osh.... The Kyrgyz lover their Jurts for sure as much as they like camping out.... sometimes difficult to find a nice spot not occupied already ....

Kyrgyzstan

In Osh the different character of Kyrgyzstan started revealing itself pretty quickly…. It definitely appears to be much more wealthy that the previous countries, at least judging by the cars driving around. Hardly any old Russian style cars at all any more. The entire second hand fleet of west European Audi’s and Merc’s and Sprinter Minivans and light trucks must have found its way here. In some areas really 90 % of the cars one encounters are old Audi 100’s. Well and then there are all the nw luxury 4WD’s and I have never seen a place with so many stretch limo’s….

The people as well seem at first glance better fed…. With progress come obesity ;-)… and a bigger gap between the poor and wealthy and so the atmosphere in the city feels just a bit less safe than before.

amusement park ---aircraft cemetry???  same same....

amusement park ---aircraft cemetry??? same same....

Also here in Osh the big market is housed in containers... quite practical to be honest...

Also here in Osh the big market is housed in containers... quite practical to be honest...

Kyrgyzstan

The next objective was the walnut forests on the Northern slopes of the Fergana valley. It was a beautiful alpine scenery, very green as the entire surrounding of the valley with really fertile soils. The forests are pretty wild though and the image of rich groves with a paradise of fresh fruits and nuts did not really materialize. Instead I was off-roading in heavy rainstorms in the mountains up beautiful valleys but it was to early in the year and avalanches had destroyed the track way up so I had to go all the way back and it was too wet for hiking... I know i became a wimp….;-)

the last image is at least an old alley with walnut trees...
the last image is at least an old alley with walnut trees...
the last image is at least an old alley with walnut trees...
the last image is at least an old alley with walnut trees...

the last image is at least an old alley with walnut trees...

Eventually I was x-ing Central Kyrgyzstan West- East through the mountains, rarely being below 2500 m, all the way to the Southern shores of Issyk Kul lake with a few days stop at Som kul situated at 3200meters altitude.

Heading up a beautiful valley...the Chinese are building a road here. the bridges became smaller and smaller though, the last one was a "leap of faith"... turned out I had to do it twice... the road did not continue...lost a day...
Heading up a beautiful valley...the Chinese are building a road here. the bridges became smaller and smaller though, the last one was a "leap of faith"... turned out I had to do it twice... the road did not continue...lost a day...
Heading up a beautiful valley...the Chinese are building a road here. the bridges became smaller and smaller though, the last one was a "leap of faith"... turned out I had to do it twice... the road did not continue...lost a day...
Heading up a beautiful valley...the Chinese are building a road here. the bridges became smaller and smaller though, the last one was a "leap of faith"... turned out I had to do it twice... the road did not continue...lost a day...

Heading up a beautiful valley...the Chinese are building a road here. the bridges became smaller and smaller though, the last one was a "leap of faith"... turned out I had to do it twice... the road did not continue...lost a day...

finally I found the right way to the pass....looking back into the fertile Fergana depression. it was green indeed.

finally I found the right way to the pass....looking back into the fertile Fergana depression. it was green indeed.

Kyrgyzstan
landscape definitely became more dry
landscape definitely became more dry

landscape definitely became more dry

Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
a few days at Som Kul lake, cleaning the truck and hiking around
a few days at Som Kul lake, cleaning the truck and hiking around
a few days at Som Kul lake, cleaning the truck and hiking around
a few days at Som Kul lake, cleaning the truck and hiking around

a few days at Som Kul lake, cleaning the truck and hiking around

Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan
towards Naryn, a pretty depressing Russian style town in the mountains...the only non grey building was....pink
towards Naryn, a pretty depressing Russian style town in the mountains...the only non grey building was....pink
towards Naryn, a pretty depressing Russian style town in the mountains...the only non grey building was....pink

towards Naryn, a pretty depressing Russian style town in the mountains...the only non grey building was....pink

oups, my truck was pretty light today.... well I am not a civil engineer but I had more dodgy bridges under my wheels before
oups, my truck was pretty light today.... well I am not a civil engineer but I had more dodgy bridges under my wheels before
oups, my truck was pretty light today.... well I am not a civil engineer but I had more dodgy bridges under my wheels before
oups, my truck was pretty light today.... well I am not a civil engineer but I had more dodgy bridges under my wheels before

oups, my truck was pretty light today.... well I am not a civil engineer but I had more dodgy bridges under my wheels before

4x4 track going higher and higher up in the backcountry
4x4 track going higher and higher up in the backcountry
4x4 track going higher and higher up in the backcountry
4x4 track going higher and higher up in the backcountry

4x4 track going higher and higher up in the backcountry

pretty rough going in the end...
pretty rough going in the end...
pretty rough going in the end...
pretty rough going in the end...
pretty rough going in the end...

pretty rough going in the end...

Kyrgyzstan

In the end I got even snowed in at 3800 meters within 1 hour over lunch break which made the descent of the Kosor pass 4WD track quite a gamble…

I got blocked by family in their broken down Lada on their way to the high pastures on the other side for a few hours while they fixed the broken fuel pump Kyrgiz style…After the rescue arrived in form of a 6x6 Russian Zil monster truck they designed a gravity driven fuel supply out of a Coke bottle…

Getting into dusk just getting down around the snow like I got myself almost completely bogged down desperately searching for a flat night spot. The dust of snow on the grass covered that it was completely sogged with almost standing water…and soft mud. I almost thought Rachael would have to come and search for me in the mountains…

But I am still amazed of the Unimogs capabilities, I did eventually extract myself and crawled up - all differentials blocked – steep, snow covered, soaking wet grass slopes…. Amazing, as the expert knows that’s almost the worst…

the snowy descent
the snowy descent
the snowy descent

the snowy descent

almost bogged in

almost bogged in

first encounter with Issyk Kul lake....  more to come soon...
first encounter with Issyk Kul lake....  more to come soon...

first encounter with Issyk Kul lake.... more to come soon...

Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
A
What effort and adventure just to meet up with Rachael, we hope she's impressed!!!. When I flew over Mongolia last week on my way back from Busan it all looked very flat and no snow so may be you're through the worst of the mountains.<br /> Have fun the two of you<br /> Alastair and Nina
Reply